Braking in a turn.

Post your technique questions here!

Moderators: NinjaMama, Fanny Fligurl, Officers

Chill

Braking in a turn.

#1 Post by Chill » Thu Jul 12, 2007 8:30 pm

I am a new rider (5000 miles) and I heard that you should try to avoid breaking in a turn. How true is this and in what situations should I be careful using the break?
"Life consists not in holding good cards but in playing those you hold well."
-- Josh Billings

I just NEED to know!
**just call me Chill**

loops954
CU Supporter

#2 Post by loops954 » Thu Jul 12, 2007 9:55 pm

i won't pretend i'm a turn pro, but, if your going to slow down you should do it before you get to the turn. if you don't commit to the curve, you can possible down your bike.

Jess/Amy/Des might have some more info. they've been to a few classes.

*chamorita*
CU Supporter

#3 Post by *chamorita* » Thu Jul 12, 2007 10:42 pm

You should complete all your braking before entering a turn, but there were times when I had to break whie in a turn.. I wasn't able to lean as much as I wanted to and it sure did bring my bike upright...
Apply light pressure while braking... or trail break....
Desiree
2003 CBR F4i Silver & Black BABY

Jello_Biafra

#4 Post by Jello_Biafra » Thu Jul 12, 2007 11:09 pm

Des hit the nail on the head. If you need to come to a stop, you need to stand the bike back up and then brake. If you just need to reduce speed a bit to avoid blowing the turn, very light and even pressure is the way to go. Grabbing the brakes is gonna cause the front tire to lose traction laterally and slide, causing a lowside.

The other solution is to just lean that extra little bit. If you're riding conservatively on the street, you should have enough lean angle left to get you out of a situation.